Smaller Text Normal Text Larger Text
Home » Online Resources » Online Databases & Research
Search Our Online Databases
Now you can access over 50 online research databases in the library, from
home or anywhere you access the Internet.

You may need to enter your library card number to access the databases.


Quick Search


Detailed Database Descriptions

A-Z World Travel
Travel essentials, country and city views, attractions,
maps, culture.

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Academic OneFile
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Audience: Research libraries, university students.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Ancestry Online
Genealogy research tool gives access to over 1 billion names, 3000 databases and primary resources. Covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries. English and French content.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use in Library Only
Auto Repair Reference Center

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Featuring essays published specifically for Canadian Points of View.

Audience: High school and beyond. General interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Canadian Reference Centre

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Career Cruising
Fully bilingual database designed to help students and others plan their future. Users are able to access hundreds of detailed occupation profiles - everything from Actuary to Zookeeper. Features a job search tool, resume builder, skills assessment tools, Career Matchmaker, portfolio development options, and more!

Audience: Middle School and beyond. General interest.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library
CPI.Q - (Canadian Periodicals)
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. CPI.Q also had an extensive collection of Ontario newspapers.

Audience: High School and beyond. General interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Consumer Health Complete / Multilingual Health
Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Try MultiLingual Health for health information in French & other languages.

Audience: General interest research.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Cypress Resume
Resumes made easy. Simply type basic information about yourself and this program will guide you through a three step process to create resumes, cover letters and reference lists.

Access: Use in or Outside the Library with Library card.
Early Canadiana Online
Early Canadiana Online is a Canadian history collection of rare books, magazines and government publications. It includes materials from the times of the first European settlers to the first decades of the 20th century. Great for scholars, genealogists and history buffs. You must be inside the library to access the full subscription content.

Access: You must be inside the library to access the full subscription content.
eBook Canadian Collection

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Global Road Warrior
The ultimate guide to the world. Includes travel essentials, country facts, demographics, maps, and more.

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Centre
This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World and many more.

Audience: All Ages.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
MasterFILE Premier

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Mango Languages
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and more.

Audience: Adults.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Military & Intelligence Database
Subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more. Additionally, the product includes the Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and the World Almanac and Book of Facts.

Audience: Military personnel
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Novelist
Find your next read, fiction and nonfiction, by author, title, subject, genre.

Audience: General interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Novelist K-8
Find your next read for kids. Fiction and nonfiction reading suggestions for children.

Audience: K-8.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Our Ontario
Find digital images, text, audio and videos about Ontario history, heritage and culture. Search the collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, heritage and community groups, government agencies, and private collections in Ontario and across Canada via a single search portal. English and French content.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library
OverDrive eBooks and Audiobooks
Download digital Audiobooks anytime and then transfer to your portable device! Browse the library and add audiobooks to your cart. When you're ready, you can check out your items using the simple online process.
Please Note: You will need to enter your library card number and PIN.

Audience: High school and beyond.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Primary Search

Audience: Middle school and up, general interest.
Access: Use In or Outside the Library with Library Card
Zinio eMagazines
Zinio offers full color, interactive digital magazines for your enjoyment. Browse from your library's collection of popular titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of magazines you can download. Download to your computer, tablet, or phone. Available anywhere.

Access: Use In or Outside the Library


Brought to you by Southern Ontario Library Service and Ontario Library Service - North.
The support of the Government of Ontario through the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport is gratefully acknowledged.

Search by Subject/eCollection
Use InfoTrac eCollections to search by subject. Click on your subject and only the relevant databases will be searched!

   » Agriculture Collection
   » Business Economics and Theory
   » Communications & Mass Media
   » Criminal Justice
   » Culinary Arts
   » Diversity Studies
   » Environmental Studies & Policy
   » Fine Arts & Music
   » Garden & Horticulture
   » Gender Studies
   » General Science
   » Home Improvement
   » Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure
   » Information Science & Tech
   » Insurance & Liability
   » Nurse & Allied Health
   » Pop Culture
   » Physical Therapy & Sports Med.
   » Religion & Philosophy
   » Small Business
   » Vocation & Careers
   » War & Terrorism
   » World History

Copyright © 2007- Smiths Falls Public Library. All Rights Reserved.