Smaller Text Normal Text Larger Text
Home » About Us » Library Board
Library Board
Smiths Falls Public Library Board
In Ontario, public libraries are created by municipal by-laws and governed by public library boards, as outlined in the Public Libraries Act. After each municipal election, Town Council appoints library board trustees to serve a four-year term. The role of the library board is to provide oversight and to ensure that the library remains accessible, accountable and relevant to the needs of the citizens of Smiths Falls, Township of Montague and Township of Drummond/North Elmsley.

SFPL Board Meetings
Board meetings are open to the public. The SFPL Board meets monthly except during the summer. Members of the public who wish to give their opinions on matters relating to the library can make presentations, up to five minutes in length, to the SFPL Board. To do so, you must notify the board prior to the meeting so that your name can be added to the list of speakers. To register in advance, please contact the Library Board by e-mail at or by telephone at 613-283-2911.

Library Board Members
(Effective January 2009)

CHAIRPERSON: William Widenmaier
VICE CHAIR: Susan Hoystead
LIBRARY CEO: Karen Schecter

BOARD MEMBER: Linda Cummings
BOARD MEMBER: Amanda Guerin
BOARD MEMBER: Shane Kelford
BOARD MEMBER: Patricia Foulkes
BOARD MEMBER: Lois Patchell (Montague)

COUNCILLOR: Lorraine Allen

Copyright © 2007- Smiths Falls Public Library. All Rights Reserved.